**Martti Ahtisaari,** Co-chair of the European Council on Foreign Relations, Chairman of the Board, Crisis Management Initiative, former President of the Republic of Finland, 2008 Nobel Peace Prize winner

Martti Ahtisaari was elected as the President of the Republic of Finland in 1994 and held the position until 2000. Before becoming the President, Mr. Ahtisaari held various positions in the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland. Upon leaving office as the President of the Republic of Finland, Mr. Ahtisaari founded the Non-Governmental Organisation *Crisis Management Initiative*. In November 2005, Mr. Ahtisaari was appointed as the Special Envoy of the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the future status process for Kosovo. On October 10, 2008 Mr. Ahtisaari was announced as this year's recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize.

## Toomas Hendrik Ilves, President of the Republic of Estonia

Toomas Hendrik Ilves was a member of the European Parliament from 2004-2006 after spending two years as a member of the Parliament of the Republic of Estonia. He has also served as the Minister of Foreign Affairs and the Ambassador of the Republic of Estonia to the United States of America, Canada and Mexico. From 1984-1993, Toomas Hendrik Ilves was an analyst and researcher for the research unit of Radio Free Europe and head of the Estonian desk of Radio Free Europe in Munich after spending a year as a lecturer of Estonian Literature and Linguistics at Simon Fraser University, Vancouver.

**Andres Kasekamp** – Director of the Estonian Foreign policy Institute, Professor of Political Science, Institute of Government and Politics, University of Tartu

Andres Kasekamp is the Director of Estonian Foreign Policy Institute (since 2000) and Professor of Baltic Politics at the University of Tartu (since 2004). Mr. Kasekamp served as Chairman of the Board of Open Estonia Foundation from 2004-2008. In addition to his main research interest in extreme right movements and contemporary Baltic history, he also analyzes the developments of the European Union's Common Foreign and Security Policy.

Kadri Liik, Director of the International Centre for Defence Studies (ICDS)

Kadri Liik became the Director of the ICDS upon its formation in the spring of 2006. Prior to that Ms. Liik worked as the editor-in-chief of the monthly magazine *Diplomacy* - now a publication of the ICDS. From 2002-2004, Ms. Liik worked as the foreign news editor of Estonia's largest daily newspaper, Postimees, having returned home from Moscow where she had served as the Moscow correspondent for Estonian daily newspapers and the information agency Baltic News Service.

**Aleksander Smolar,** Chairman of the Board, Stefan Batory Foundation, Member of the European Council on Foreign Relations

Aleksander Smolar is a political scientist and commentator. Mr. Smolar is the President of the Stefan Batory Foundation located in Warsaw. In the past, he has served as the chief political advisor to the Prime Minister of Poland, Tadeusz Mazowiecki (1989-1990) and the foreign policy advisor to the Prime Minister of Poland, Hanna Suchocka (1992-1993).

George Soros, Chairman, Open Society Institute, Member of the European Council on Foreign Relations

George Soros is Chairman of Soros Fund Management, LLC and founder of The Open Society Institute. Mr. Soros has been active as a philanthropist since 1979. He has established a network of philanthropic organizations that are now active in more than 50 countries dedicated to promoting the values of democracy and an open society. Mr. Soros is the author of nine books, including most recently *The Age of Fallibility: Consequences of the War on Terror*.